frugalfitmom

Saving money, staying fit, loving life with family

Meal Planning January 18, 2012

Filed under: Meal Planning,recipes — frugalfitmom @ 11:10 am
Tags: , ,

Does anyone else meal plan? Every year I set this as my goal to really do this every week but always seem to forget to do it. This year is not different – One goal for 2012 is meal planning. So I will begin each week on this blog (on Sunday’s) with my meal plans and would love it if you would to!

 

Meal planning is great for organizing your kitchen, making sure you have all ingredients for the week, it helps save money by reducing impulse buys while grocery shopping, and I like to know how much time I need to cook 🙂

 

 

One Response to “Meal Planning”

  1. I have been a meal planner for as long as I can remember. At the beginning of each month I create a calendar for that month on my computer and each week, after looking at market sales papers and searching recipes and recipe sites, I type in what I want to make each day of that particular week. This helps me with planning a variety of different meals, we always have a Mexican night, an Italian night, a chicken night, soup/stew night, etc. What I like about the way I plan for the week is that if I have to move the meals around from one day to another I can.

    My grocery list is set up exactly the way my store is laid out and the route I take (I am a creature of habit – LOL), this way I know exactly what aisles I need to go down and pick up only what is on my list which in turn reduces impulse buying.
    In additon to using the calendar to create my grocery list, I keep a little magnetic note pad on the side of our refrigerator so that we can jot down items as they run out or are about to and refer to that also when I write my grocery list.

    You will find that after a while meal planning does become routine. You’ve picked your day now pick a time…..are you the first one up on Sunday morning? Grab a cup of coffee, your computer and your recipe books and put your plan and grocery list together. Or if you’re a late nighter, catching the last few episodes of “Desperate Housewives,” snuggle up on the couch with a pen, paper and your recipes. Now you can accomplish two things at once!

    Best of Luck!!! Hope you’ll visit us from time to time at rezichfamilykitchen3, check out our recipes and family stories.


Leave a Reply

